J.R. Siperly takes the stage for leadership development

J.R. Siperly

J.R. Siperly, ASCC President

J.R. Siperly has a strong work ethic and a passion for community, traits he acquired from his adoptive parents Bruce and Sandra Siperly. He is an Eagle Scout and served three terms as senior patrol leader. He also served as student body president his senior year at Adna High School, where he founded the “Battle of the Schools” food drive competition between Adna and Napavine, now in its third year.

Siperly chose Centralia College because of the leadership opportunities available. He wasted no time making his mark, running for and being elected student body president. He is engaging his leadership skills to bring new computers to the Veterans Center, new computer monitors to the Writing Center, and he is working to name the Kiser Natural Outdoor Learning Lab (KNOLL) footbridge in honor of Russ Mohney, former Centralia College employee, author, and “peasant naturalist” who passedl away in 2010.

“I’m proud of the work I’ve done and grateful for the opportunities that being student body president provides,” Siperly said. “It’s a lot of hard work and I’m learning a lot. I could not have accomplished nearly as much without the support of my parents and Shelley Bannish (director of Student Life and Involvement Center).”

Siperly didn’t have an easy start in life. His biological parents suffered with addiction, bringing on health problems for Siperly as an infant, which led to learning difficulties as he grew up. He was placed in special education classes but with the support of his parents and his teachers he overcame these difficulties and entered mainstream classes by the time he entered eighth grade.

“I always struggled with math, but my teachers looked for creative ways to help me,” Siperly said. “Professor (Roberta) Ziegler (math) at the college has that easy going nature that helps me to relax and I’m able to do better on tests.”

Siperly also credits his success to the support he has received from many other teachers along the way and to the unconditional love and support of his parents.

Siperly has been re-elected to the office of president of the Associated Students of Centralia College (ASCC) student government for the 2014-15 college year.

“My parents are the driving force to my success at college and in life,” Siperly said. “They are always in my corner and have made me the person I am today. I will always be grateful for the life they’ve given me.”

About Cindy Lawrence

Web Manager, Centralia College View all posts by Cindy Lawrence

Leave a comment